From Castlebar - County Mayo -

Road Safety
National Science Award for Mayo Students
By Noel Gibbons
1, Dec 2016 - 16:31

A 2nd science class in St Joseph's Secondary School, Castlebar, Co. Mayo have been announced as the overall winners in the National Saffron Science Competition for 2016. (

Back row: L to R: Ms. F. Lynch (Science teacher), Nicol Bukovska, Ugne Budreckyte, Susan Ralph, Julianna Aitken, Niamh Ward, Brianna Moran, Ms. R. Flannelly (IT teacher) Front Row:,: Lilly Behan, Freya Cresham, Manmehak Kaur, LucaĆ­ Murphy.

This year, entrants were asked to create a 3 minute video around the question 'How science and technology can make managing transportation safer? The girls focused on the vulnerable road user, the pedestrian ( 30 pedestrians killed to-date in 2016 on Irish roads) and developed a prototype of lights embedded in the ground at pedestrian crossings, to enhance the safety of the pedestrian- ( This competition aims to promote the practical application of science in secondary schools.

The competition, in its first year, was launched to encourage budding young film-makers to use their design and media skills and to increase awareness of how transportation may change in the future.

As part of the competition, students from across Ireland have been developing short films presenting their ideas for future travel - part of a European initiative that helps young people promote their skills and competencies.

The panel of judges from ITS Ireland and eFlow, sponsors of the competition, praised the quality of research, innovation and production of the winning entry. The forward thinking students who claimed first place have won an astounding prize of a 3 day class trip to the European Space Centre, Belgium in January 2017.

© Copyright 2016 by Castlebar - County Mayo -