From Castlebar - County Mayo -

Castlebar Tennis Club News 3rd June 2002
By Mary Fox
3, Jun 2002 - 12:24

President's Day in Castlebar Tennis Club turned out to be one of the most successful days in the club's calendar. Club President Ann Garavan was honoured with a hugh turnout of players and a most competitive tennis tournament. During her speech Ann spoke of her deep respect and love of Castlebar Tennis Club and wished the Club well for the future. She also thanked the players for taking part and felt honoured by the huge turnout. She then presented the winners with some very special prizes, all sponsored by herself. The President's Cup was won by Dave McHale and Siobhan Shiel who never dropped a game during the whole tournament.

Chairperson Michael Murphy Jnr, thanked Ann Garavan for all her years of commitment to the Club and said that the Club was honoured to have had her as President for the past two years. He also thanked her for sponsoring this tournament.

There was a special presentation by President Ann Garavan to Warren Atkins to honour his tremendous achievements in the tennis circuit over the last year. She also wished him well in the future.

Results as follows:
Section 1: Winners - John O'Donoghue and Bernie Bourke.
Second - Cathy McGreal and Frank Murray.
Third - Michael Murphy Jnr and Dolores Towey.

Section 2: Winners - Dave McHale and Siobhan McHale.
Second - Tom Murphy and Ann O'Malley.
Third - George McMunn and Patricia Armstrong.

KARTON CRAFT - Dublin, sponsored tournament.
A very enjoyable evening of tennis took place at the Club on Friday 2nd November. This tournament was sponsored by Charlie Miller of KARTON CRAFT. The Committee would like to thank Charlie for his very generous sponsorship. More than fifty players took part.

Results as follows:
Mixed Section: Winners - Billy Nolan and Yvonne McAlpine.
Runners Up - Pat Doherty and Ann Prendergast.

Ladies Doubles
Winners - Ann Ryan and Margaret Sweeney.
Runners Up - Mary Gavin and Ger Lyons.

Mens Doubles
Winners - Eamon Coll and Dave McHale.
Runners Up - Charlie Miller and Willie Thornton.

The next Fun First Friday to take place on Friday 7th December, 2001.

The AGM of Castlebar Tennis Club took place on Tuesday 13th November. In her report, secretary Pauline O'Donoghue pointed out that the year 2000/2001 had been a very successful year for the Tennis Club. Many competitions were organised by the Tournament Committee and Club Captains, Gina Kelly and Pat Doherty. She thanked Tom Murphy of Pamex, Rory Courell of Hibernian Insurance, Mick Byrne, of Byrne's Pub, Main Street, Maura Gavin, Kyte Boutique, Dave and Loretto O'Malley of O'Malley Engineering, Charlie Miller, Karton Craft, Pat and Ann Staunton, Staunton's Pharmacies, Paul and Teresa Gavin and Diarmuid Gavin of Glaxo-Smith Kline for their very generous sponsorship throughout the year.

Club members had a very successfull tournament in Irvinstown, Co. Fermanagh when four cups were won by members of Castlebar Tennis Club.

Allied Irish Banks once again very generously sponsored the Connaught Open Championships which were held over the August weekend. Players from all over Ireland took park in this competition.

Dr. David O'Kane Memorial Cup was held on October 14th, and was sponsored as always by Rings 'n Things, with proceeds going towards the Cystic Fibrosis Organisation.

The Senior Club Championship Finals were held on 21st August, 2001 and were sponsored by McDermott and Doherty and Castle Book Shop.

Lady Presidents Day was also a wonderful success. Pauline thanked Ann Garavan for arranging the beautiful prizes and for her thoughtfulness on the day.

Pauline also congratulated all the juniors who had excelled in representing the Club throughout the country over the last year. She thanked Club Coach Garrett Barry for his dedication. She also thanked the parents of the juniors for their dedication also.

New Committee
A new Committee was elected on the night. The Committee is as follows:
President - Ann Garavan.
Chairperson - Adrian Gavin.
Vice - chairperson - Michael Murphy Jnr.
Secretary - Pauline O'Donoghue.
Treasurer - Niall Ferriter.
Ladies Captain - Loretto O'Malley.
Mens Captain - Diarmuid Gavin.
Committee Members - Laura O'Malley, Joe Cuddy, Gina Kelly, Maria Casey, Pat Doherty and Paul Hardiman.
Outgoing Chairperson Michael Murphy Jnr, thanked the outgoing Committee for their hard work and dedication throughout the year.

Castlebar Boys excel at Westwood during Halloween. 73 boys from all over Ireland competed in the Boys U 13 competition at Westwood. Once again the Castlebar Boys featured strongly. Michael Cuddy reached the final of the U 13 Singles. Daniel Glancy reached the semi-final Singles U 13 and Daniel Glancy and Michael Cuddy won the U 13 Boys Doubles Competition. Andrew Butler reached the semi-final U 11. Overall this was a highly competitive competition. Congratulations to one and all.

© Copyright 2002 by Castlebar - County Mayo -