Breaffy GAA- Annual Dinner Dance

Annual Dinner Dance

The Annual Dinner took place in Breaffy House Hotel on Friday last. There was an attendance of over 200 people, and all enjoyed a tremendous night to the sound of Concorde. Club secretary Donal Gallagher, in his capacity as compere for the night welcomed all, and especially the new owners, The Lynch Group were welcomed to the community. Chairman Martin Reddington welcomed the special guests, local curate Fr. Nohilly, County Chairman P.J. McGrath and Western Board Chairman Tommy O'Brien. He also paid tribute to all who worked so hard at all levels in the club over the past year and looked forward to a successful year.

In his address Tommy O'Brien congratulated Donal Gallagher on his recent election as Chairman of Mayo Scor. County Chairman P.J. McGrath complimented the club on its progressive developments and mentioned in particular the Millennium lectures which were a great success. Both paid tribute to the club players and in particular to Marty McNicholas and Colm Lyons on their involvement at County level in under-21 and senior panels respectively.
A special word of thanks also goes to sponsors on the night, a mulled wine reception and table wine was sponsored by Tesco and a special gift for all the ladies attending sponsored by Mary MacAuliffey


The following awards were presented:

Colm Lyons - Under 21 player of the year
Paddy Thomas - Junior player of the year
Declan Jennings - Senior player of the year
Tom Connaughton - Club Person
Des Jennings - Hall of Fame

Well done to all and thanks to Tolsters Bar, Kevin Curry, Shamrock Bar and Sean Canny for their sponsorship. The Kelly Cup was formerly presented by P.J. McGrath, which the club won this year for the first time since 1986.

Scor Na nOg

Congratulations to the Figure Dancing team who re-presented the club at the County Finals on Sunday evening in Hollymount and came away with top honours. The team will compete in the Connaught Finals on Sunday 14th in the Hyde Center Roscommon and we wish them all the best. Dancers: Orla and Yvonne Duffy, Nuala Bourke, Marietta Conlon, Catherina Flynn, Leona Corbrett, and Reona Durkan.

Main Page