From Castlebar - County Mayo -

Linenhall Arts Centre
Classical Violin at the Linenhall
19, Apr 2017 - 14:31

Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan & Helena Wood - Violins

Monday 24th April @ 8.00pm

Music Network


Four of Ireland's finest violinists - from the country's most prestigious orchestras to boot - come together for the very first time in a scintillating series of concerts. Leader of the RTÉ Concert Orchestra since 2006, Mia Cooper is a highly-regarded chamber musician who has graced the stage with the Barbican Trio, Gould Trio, Brodsky Quartet, Fibonacci Sequence and Academy of St Martin in the Fields; Katherine Hunka, leader of the Irish Chamber Orchestra since 2002, has collaborated with Murray Perriah, Joshua Bell, Nigel Kennedy and Anthony Marwood amongst others; while Ioana Petcu-Colan, Associate Leader of the Ulster Orchestra, has worked with artists as diverse as Martin Hayes, Arcade Fire, John Abercrombie and members of the Alban Berg and Vanbrugh quartets; and Helena Wood, leader of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, a seasoned performer on TV and radio, who has given numerous recitals at venues including Wigmore Hall, Barbican Hall and the Royal Festival Hall. A truly stellar line-up performing music that includes Telemann, Bartók and Ian Wilson.


Rodion Shchedrin (born 1932) - Balalaika

Béla Bartók (1881-1945) - 44 Duos, Sz. 98 (A selection from the collection)

Friedrich Hermann (1828-1907) - Capriccio No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 2; Capriccio No. 2 in G Major, Op. 5

Ian Wilson (born 1964) - Quattro Stagioni (New Commission by Music Network)


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767) - Concerto in G Major, TWV 40:201

i. Largo e staccato ii. Allegro iii. Adagio iv. Vivace

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Adagio in C Major (from Toccata, Adagio and Fugue, BWV 564, arr. by Mia Cooper)

Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935) - Passacaglia (after G.F. Handel's Suite No. 7 in G Minor for Harpsichord)

Grażyna Bacewicz (1909-1969) - Quartetto per 4 violini

i. Allegretto ii. Andante tranquillo iii. Molto allegro

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840) - Caprice in A Minor, Op. 1, No. 24 (Arr. by Skip Martin, adapted by Paul Frost)

Book Tickets

© Copyright 2017 by Castlebar - County Mayo -