Castlebar Rugby Club
Castlebar Rugby Club News - 18 Dec 2006
By John Mulligan
Dec 24, 2006, 09:51


Once again the curse of Galwegians struck on Sunday last when the firsts were beaten by six points in Castlebar. The points coming from two Paul Coady penalties. Now is a time for a well-deserved break for Christmas before getting back into the swing of things with Monivea the first game after Christmas.

Castlebar: Paddy Flannelly, Ciaran Flynn, Mike Power, Nigel Byrne, Simon O'Malley, Paul Coady, Christy Cusack. Eugene Butterworth, Paddy Durcan, Ruairi Hughes, Damian Glackin, Gerard Prendergast, Enda Murphy, Eamonn Cafferkey, Tadgh Kirby.

Replacements: Mark Staunton, Barry Barnacle, and Paul Heverin.

Seconds/development Squad.

The seconds were in outstanding form on Sunday last beating Ballina by twenty four points to twelve. The tries coming from Paudie O’Malley, Danny McGing, Chris Jordan and David Staunton. Padraig Healy kicked two conversions. This is a massive win for the seconds and has put them in a very strong position coming into the Christmas break.

Castlebar Panel: Brian Flannery, Neil Coyle, Owen O’Neil, Sheamus Devaney, Paul Heverin, Gavin Sullivan, Eamon Cafferkey, Andrew Verity, Padraig Healy, Conor O’Malley, Shane Davis, Stewart McLoughlin, Brian Gannon, Liam Molloy, Danny McGing, Damien Glackin, David Staunton, Paudie O’Malley, Chris Jordan, Cathal O’Ciobhain, Mike Moran, Sean Hynes, Chris Rogan, Barry Barnacle, Colm Gallagher, JJ Ormsby, Tom Murphy, Noel Cusack, John Derrig. 

In Association with

Last Saturday was a very special day for the minis with the announcement that Mini Rugby will be sponsored by Shaw’s Department Stores for the next three years. This announcement has been welcomed by Castlebar RFC and is another sign of the club’s commitment towards underage rugby and the development of young players in the club. As a result all club notes will also feature the Shaw’s logo from here on and Mini reports will also feature the Shaws logo. The Club would like to thank Shaws for their involvement and are looking forward to a very successful three years together. Players received special jackets on Saturday to mark the occasion.

The awards were Also presented for last season’s players of the year and they were as follows:

Under 7

Player of the year – Ryan Potter

Most Improved – Mark Benson

Under 8

Player of the year – Calum Kyne

Most Improved – Paul Walsh

Under 9

Player of the year – Pat Corless

Most improved – Conor Quinn

Under 10

Player – Chris McCormack

Most improved – Ronan Byrne

Under 11

Player of the year – Patrick Durcan

Most Improved – Ryan Coleman

Under 12

Player of the Year – Liam Nevin

Most Improved – Nathan O’Malley

There will be a full report on the day in January.

The Club would like to wish all our underage players, coaches and Parents and very happy Christmas and a fantastic new year and are looking forward to seeing them all again for training on Saturday the 13th of January.

St Stephens Day

The traditional St Stephen’s day celebrations continue as usual this year with the highlight of the day the clash of the Presidents XV and The Captain’s XV at the clubhouse kicking off at 2.30. This year plans to be even more exciting than in previous years with both men organising their squads for the past couple of weeks and a great game is in prospect. The referee’s from the UN (sorry the Connaught Branch) have been put in place for the day and they too are looking forward to the match. For those not interested in playing, there will be entertainment throughout the day with plenty of refreshments and the plan is for the party to go long into the night. This is traditionally a great way of ending the year and everyone is invited to come along and take part. A Special invite goes out to all of those who were involved in the Rag Rugby competition over the summer and we hope to see as many as possible on the day in what is a reunion of sorts. The final plans to put up the President’s board is almost in place too so if you know anything about the club and Its history it would be great to hear from you.

Good Luck

Best wishes are sent to Stewart Brennan on the opening of his new business in the Humbert mall. From All At Castlebar RFC.

Festive Greetings

Here’s wishing all officials, players, members, sponsors and supporters of Castlebar RFC good health, peace and happiness at Christmas and throughout 2007. Thank you to all who have supported The club in whatever manner throughout 2006 and we hope you will do the same next year.

The Club Notes will resume in January.

EXTRA - Lotto Winners and Race Night Results

The Castlebar RFC Lotto continues on Friday the 29th of December in Mick Byrnes Main Street at 11pm. The Jackpot is now 8,000 euro so all help would be appreciated. Would as many sellers as possible please come out on the night also as it is expected to be a busy night.

The list of Match Three winners from May to October is also here and are as follows:

May – four winners (25 Euro Each)

Paul O’Malley

Eamon Fahy

Emma Kilkelly

Warren Turner

June – four winners (25 Euro Each)

Paul Rowland

Alan Cadden

Dee O’Malley

John McHale

July – four winners (25 Euro Each)

Edwina Carson

Ger Shiels

Frank Durcan

Toni Durcan

August – Two winners (50 euro each)

Vincent Ruane

Ken Armstrong

September – Three winners (33 Euro Each)

Paddy Burke

Michael Cunningham

Michael Duane

October – Two winners (50 Euro each)

Kevin O’Toole

Margaret O’Hara


Castlebar RFC Held its race night recently in Tolsters and a great night was had by all. Frenzied betting among the punters followed some exciting racing and while no one made a million from the meeting, the important thing was that it was a much-needed fundraiser for the club. The club would like to thank everyone who bought horses, Sponsored races, went racing and had a go with the Bookmakers. A special word of thanks must go to the Bookmakers for their hard work and to paddy Durcan who kept a tight rein on the Auction race.

As with every meeting there were winners and they are as follows:

Race 1 – Mick Hastings

Race 2 – Ronan Timothy

Race 3 – Tomas O’Malley and Stewart Little

Race 4 – John Melvin

Race 5 – Michael Ryan

Race 6 – Marita Staunton

Race 7 – Karina Deegan

Race 8 – Ciaran Flynn and Mark Staunton

Race 9 – Kevin Connolly and Alan Burns

Auction Race

1st – Sheamus Regan

2nd – Pat Jennings

Their winners Prizes are being currently sent to them and they should have them shortly.

© Copyright 2003 by and the author