From Castlebar - County Mayo -

Snugboro United FC
Snugboro United Awards Night
By P McHale
7, Jan 2004 - 19:53

Snugboro United’s annual dinner and presentation night was a resounding success when held at the T F Royal Hotel and Theatre on sun night last Dec 21st

Mayo League chairman Joe Butler was guest of honour and He presented medals to squad members who have just completed an epic season.

Danny Lawless was presented with the golden boot award after scoring an incredible 31 goals for the season and not surprisingly He was also voted player of the year despite competition from Johan Collins and Kieran Murphy.

‘Boro’s only ever-present for the year David Roughneen scooped the young player of the year award ahead of Arron Curry and Anthony Healy.

Darragh Walsh was voted ‘best supporter of the year’.

Padraig McHale received the award for Club Person of the year.

In his address Joe Butler paid tribute to Snugboro for undertaking a huge development which will provide top class playing facilities in the village and will benefit the entire community.

Snugboro are looking forward to a bright future. The new pitch should be playable during the course of the season which sees the first team compete in the premier division of the Mayo League.

The team are still involved in the Connaught Cup and face Ballinrobe Town in the third round on Feb 1st next.

The underage structures which are so vital to the future of any club are progressing in the capable hands of Johnny Burke, John Lalor and Brendan Mullen.

Chairman Anthony Healy thanked the clubs sponsors and all who worked so diligently during the season for the club.

© Copyright 2004 by Castlebar - County Mayo -