From Castlebar - County Mayo -

Mayo League
Mayo League News - 17 Oct 2011
By Pat Quigley
17, Oct 2011 - 09:11

Alan Gough, has announced his resignation from Ballina Town during the week. Alan who had previously been the Manager of Swinford FC, early in the season, and then moved to Ballina Town.

Derek Glynn Claremorris FC collapsed, while playing against Ballyheane FC in the FAI Junior Cup. He was brought to hospital, and we are glad to report that he is recovering well. Claremorris went on to win the game 3-2.


The Football Association of Ireland are holding a Kick Start 2 Coach Education Course in Milebush Park, Castlebar on Friday, Saturday, Sunday November 25th, 26th and 27th.

The course shall run from 7pm-10pm on Friday evening and from 10am to 5pm on both Saturday and Sunday. Participants must attend all modules of the course in order to qualify for certification. Course descriptor is attached. Course fee is €75. This course is limited to 24 participants so book early to avoid disappointment.

For further course details and registration call Paul Byrne @ 0868579678

Mayo Manager Appointment

The Mayo League is pleased to announce the appointment of Michael Hutton as Manager of the Mayo Team for the upcoming Oscar Traynor campaign.

Paul Ginty will take on the role of fitness coach/trainer and Paul Byrne will complete the coaching team.

Tommy Rumley has been appointed as Kit Manager.

Padraig McHale will be the team liaison officer.

The Oscar Traynor trophy is the FAI's flagship competition for Inter League amateur Players and Mayo are drawn in a three team group with the Sligo/Leitrim League and Roscommon.

In announcing the appointment League chairman Padraig McHale welcomed the new management team and wished them and the players the best of luck for the completion ,He also thanked the outgoing management team of Brendan Kenny, David Nash and Paul Fielding for their efforts over the past two seasons and wished them well in the future football activities.

Mayo's first game is away to Roscommon in November with the second group game at home versus Sligo.The group winners will qualify for the Quarter Finals.
In an effort to encourage more people to support the team a number of iniaitivies are expected to be announced in advance of the Home match.

Clubs who feel that they have players who are good enough to represent the county team should contact the Mayo League with the names of these players as training will be getting underway next week.

Tallaght Stadium, Turner's Cross and Sligo Showgrounds shortlisted for Airtricity League Pitch of the Year

Tallaght Stadium, Turner's Cross and the Showground's in Sligo have been shortlisted for the Airtricity League Pitch of the Year award 2011, it was announced today. The pitches at the three venues have been nominated for the award following consultation with referees and players.

The Irish Institute of Sports Surfaces (IISS) will visit the three venues over the coming week before awarding the Airtricity League Pitch of the Year award to the surface deemed to be the highest quality. The Pitch of the Year Award, which is organised by the FAI, IISS and specialist sports turf fertiliser company Whites Amenity, will be presented to the winner at the FAI Ford Cup final at Aviva Stadium on November 6th.

Airtricity League referees and players (through the PFAI) were asked to nominate the pitches they felt achieved the highest standards. Tallaght Stadium, home to Shamrock Rovers, Turner's Cross, home to Cork City, and the Showgrounds, home to Sligo Rovers received the highest number of votes.

IISS Managing Director Donal Kearney said: "The Airtricity League Pitch of the Year Award has been created to highlight the hard work of ground staff, whose dedication and endeavours has often gone unnoticed. We hope that this award provides due recognition and will encourage others to continue to improve the standards of the playing surface. Our thanks to Whites Amenity for their support for this award."

Stephen Finn

Communications Executive

Football Association of Ireland


© Copyright 2011 by Castlebar - County Mayo -