From Castlebar - County Mayo -

Mayo League
Mayo Women's League AGM 2015
By Seán Treacy
17, Dec 2015 - 08:40

The Mayo Women's League held its AGM in Milebush Park on Monday night (14  Dec 2015). Chairman Ritchie Flannery welcomed everyone to the meeting. He congratulated Manulla F.C on a fantastic season winning 4 trophies and being runners-up in the WFAI Shield Final. He congratulated Castlebar Town on winning the U19 League and Cup. He said two new clubs joined the U19 League this season, Ballinrobe and Swinford. Ballinrobe won the U19 Shield and Swinford were runners-up in the Women's Shield Final and the U19 League final. He congratulated his own club Kilmore F.C on winning the Mayo Shield. He thanked all the officers for their work during the year and Joe King for running the fixtures programme.

Fixtures Secretary Joe King thanked the members of the Referees society for their cooperation during the year. He thanked John Durkan and the Mayo Football League for their assistance in getting fixtures played. Joe also gave a brief outline of the new Women's Strategic Plan where there will be 8 Regions and Mayo will be in the Mid-West region with Galway, Roscommon and Longford. Joe also announced on the night that the Mayo Women's League Annual Awards Night would take place on Friday the 22nd of January in the Broken Jug, Ballina, and time will be confirmed closer to the date. Awards would be for the following, Women's League Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year and League Team of the Year.

Treasurer Diana Hopkins gave a detailed financial report which was accepted by all present. Padraig McHale (chairman of Mayo Football League), on behalf of the Mayo Football League wished the League well for the coming season. He congratulated those that won Trophies during the season and also said there was an excellent spirit of cooperation between the two leagues. Officers elected for the coming season are as follows:
Chairman: Joe King
Vice-Chairman: PJ Moyle's
Treasurer: Diana Hopkins
Registrar: Sean Mc Donnell
P.R.O: Seán Treacy
Fixtures Secretary: Joe King
Assistant Treasurer: PJ Moyle's.
Committee: John Flanagan, Ritchie Flannery.

There was no Secretary elected at the meeting and if anyone is in a position to take up this role please contact any of the above named officers.

© Copyright 2015 by Castlebar - County Mayo -