Formation of GAA

Records show that Breaffy was involved in the GAA as early as 1906. The Connaught Telegraph, in a report of the 14th April, 1906 of a meeting of the County Committee of the GAA, states: "Breaffy was represented by Myles Fahey and Thomas Kenny". The same paper in its issue of 12th May 1906, states: "At a County Committee meeting held in Castlebar, Breaffy were represented by J.W. Caulfield. Fixtures made included Kilmeena V Breaffy at Westport. The Connaught Telegraph of the 28th May 1906 reported as follows: "Kilmeena V Breaffy - Breaffy team: Cummings (Captain), Golden, Conroy, A. McHale, J. McHale, Kennedy, McGreevy, Browne, Ludden, McHugh, Fahey, Joyce, Barrett, Cannon, McEvilly, Fox. The Breaffy men showed a great lack of practice and appeared to be unaccustomed to one another on the field. They have good material but practice must on no account be overlooked. The final score was in favour of Kilmeena."

There is also a report in the same paper of the 9th April 1910 of a match in the field of Mr. Jacob Beckett now Known as Spencer Park of a match played in ideal conditions between Castlebar Mitchells and a selection from Breaffy and Keelogues. It was refereed by Mr. John Ryan of the Mayo County Board. Mitchells played with a stiff breeze in the first half and did most of the scoring in spite of a fine performance from Michael Mitchell in goal. The story was reversed in the second half before Mitchells ran out winners:
Breaffy/Keelogues 3-2 (11), Castlebar Mitchell's 1-12.

The Connaught Telegraph of 5th May 1928 reported on a match at Pigeon Park, Castlebar that was a replay of the 1927 Hurling Championship Final ordered by the County Board between Ballyheane and Westport. Ballyheane put up a fine performance in a spectacular game to secure the medals; Ballyheane 3-1, Westport 1-2. Paddy Rainsford, Castlebar was the referee. Ballyheane: - M. O'Leary, T. O'Grady, N. O'Neill, P. Hanley, P. Kelly, A. O'Malley, M. McCourt, T. O'Sullivan, P. Bourke, M. McCarthy, M. Higgins (Capt.), J. O'Brien, J. McGovern, Jack Connor, J. Kilcourse, Subs. Jim Connor, M. Kilcourse.

Origins of the Field
The Present Club
Main Page