The Present Club.

Breaffy GAA Club was formed in 1953. The first officers were: Chairman - Paddy Golden, Secretary - Frank Quinn, Treasurer - Bill Ralph. The newly formed team played their first match against Aughagower in the Desmesne, in the field, which is now the club's old ground. Johnny Golden was the captain, scored the first goal and Bernie King scored the first point. The club won divisional honours in 1955 and 1956 and the minor team won the divisional 9 a side league in 1956. The Connaught Telegraph of 20th March 1954 reports on the Breaffy GAA Club convention. Paddy Golden presided. Bill Ralph, Secretary reported: - " A GAA club was formed in Breaffy last year, the first in a generation. A few local boys who were keen on the grand old game of Gaelic Football got together and started practising in the evenings and soon others joined their ranks. In our first year we achieved more in a few months than others accomplished in as many years. We defeated Aughagower in our first game at home and then Westport. Breaffy in our first year were winners of the division B grade. Our minors in conjunction with Islandeady defeated Louisburgh in the first round and Mulranny in the second. We lost to Castlebar in the final. We supplied one of the glorious All-Ireland minors in Mick Kennedy." Officers elected: - Chairman - Paddy Golden, Vice Chairman - Bill Ralph, Secretary - Martin McEllin, Treasurer - Frank Quinn, Team Captain - Mick Kennedy, Vice Captain - Jimmy Barrett.

Origins of the Field
Formation of Breaffy GAA
Main Page