The first meeting of Mayo County Council was held in the Grand Jury Room of the Courthouse, Castlebar, on Saturday 22nd April, 1899. At twelve O' clock the list was called over by the Secretary, Mr Blake and the following were present - Messrs. Anthony Murphy, Henry Devaney, Thomas Walsh, John Garvey, Michael H. Ferrick, Luke Dillion, Peter Joyce, John O'Malley, Domnick Murtagh, James Daly, Conor O' Kelly, Thomas Hughes, John McHale, W.E. Mulligan, John F. Lavan, Anthony Maguire, Myles O'Donnell, William Doris, Daniel Morrin, Patrick O' Donnell, Maurice C. Blake, John Davitt, John Mc Dermott, John Walsh.

Grand Jury Nominees - Messers. R. Powell, E. Thomas O'Donel.

District Council Chairman or Representatives: Messrs P. J. Kelly, J.P, Bernard Egan, John Ryan, Edward Mc Andrew, H.M. Canning, Thomas Tighe, Major Saunders Knox-Gore, M.C. Henry.

All the County CouncilLors for Mayo were present, except Mr. Knox Gildea, a Grand Jury Nominee, who sent a certificate that he was ill.

On the motion of Mr James Daly, seconded by Mr Luke Dillion, Mr Conor O'Kelly (President, South Mayo Executive U.I.L.) was appointed Chairman for the transaction of preliminary business, the co-option of additional Councillors and a permanent chairman. On the motion of Mr William Doris it was resolved that the Council exercise the rights given if co-opting two members.

The Chairman proposed that Mr Patrick Tuohy be co-opted. Mr Tuohy was the nominee of the United Irish League and would have elected him at the head of the poll were it not for the accident by which nomination paper was not lodged.

Mr J.F. Lavan seconded and Mr Tuohy was co-opted unanimously.

Mr Tuohy thanked the Council for the honour done him.

Mr Thomas Walsh pro-posed and Mr Jas Daly seconded the co-option of Mr John O'Donnell (Secretary Central Directory U.I.L.) and the motion was adopted with acclamation.

Mr O'Donnell thanked the Council very much for the warmth with which they received his name.

He thanked them most heartily for the honour done him, but he could not allow his name to go forward for co-option. The Mayo County Council and the men who composed it would, he knew, be a credit not only to Mayo but to Ireland.

Mr. O'Donnell's name was then withdrawn. Mr William Doris (Hon Secretary, West Mayo U.I.L.) said he had much pleasure in proposing Mr. W. P. Flatley, Claremorris. Mr Flatley was a civil Engineer and would be a very valuable member of the council. Mr John Walsh (Treasurer, West Mayo, U.I.L.) seconded and Mr Flatley was unanimously co-opted.

The next Business was the election of Chairman.

Mr John Lava had much pleasure in proposing Mr. Cona President of the Mayo Executive of the United Irish League.

Mr Luke Dillion seconded and with no other candidate being proposed Mr O'Kelly was duly elected, amidst applause.

The Council then proceeded to dispose of ordinary business set out in the agenda paper, adjourning at three o'clock to eleven o' clock on Monday.

Go to Castlebar