Mayo County Council

Photo of the Offices

Mayo County Council's newly established office building, Áras and Contae, adjoins and complements the older Chirst Church building on the west side of the Mall. This is the administrative centre for County Mayo with 31 elected County Councillors meeting in the council chamber at least once a month.

The headquarter's administrative staff fulfill the Council's programme, directing local staff around the county who maintain roads, water and sewerage and other environmental facilities in Mayo.

Funding is obtained from rates on business premises, from motor taxation (Motor Tax office located behind the Courthouse on the Mall) and from Government Subvention. Mayo is a large county albeit with a relatively small population for its size and it is a major task to provide pubic infrastructure - roads, water, sewerage, etc. and over the years the people of Mayo have been well served by its elected councillors and by county officials alike.

Further web pages can be found at:

Go to Castlebar

Page maintained by Castlebar Information Age Town Project,
Mayo Editorial Services mayoedit@iol.ieCopyright © CIAT. Created: 12 July 1997 Updated: 24 January 1999