Castlebar .News
Community News and Information
Click to Visit Go to Castlebar | Photo Gallery | THE Castlebar Directory | Castlebar Links | Nostalgia | Bulletin Board 

Last Updated: May 5th, 2003 - 01:27:07 

Content Editor Login

Automatic Newsfeed for Mayo Clubs!


December Swimming News 30 Dec 2002
By Linda McCaffrey
Dec 30, 2002, 00:39:00

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

Castlebar Swimming Club held the Annual Gala for Pre-Club swimmers on Sunday 1st December in Castlebar Pool. A huge turn out of over 100 hundred swimmers took part, All four strokes, Freestyle, Breast Stroke, Backstroke and Butterfly were swum over a distance of 25m for boys and girls aged from under 8 under 10, under 11 and under 12. These boys and girls are attending the swimming classes and lengths sessions which are held by the Club and they are future stars to be. Every swimmer who completed the distance was presented with a certificate of achievement and their time swam for the distance. Well done to all the young swimmers!! The presentation of certificates and medal winners was held after the gala, which finished up with two huge jumbo relay races involving all the swimmers.

The medal results are as follows:



Conor Tuohy, Kevin Costello, Patrick Sweeny, Owen Thornton. Eoin Cawley, Feidhlim Ralph, Cormac Killian, Cathal Walsh, Killian Dervan, Cian McGowan, Rory Walsh, Liam Martin, Michael Murray, Francis Walsh, Conor Waters, Alan Walsh, Joseph Togher, Gary Mulhern, Conor Douglas, Shane Cunningham, Stephen Murray, Adrian Finnegan, Jack O’ Donnell.


Oisin Ralph, Feidhlim Ralph, Killian Dervan, Aongus O’ Maicin, Josh Gannon,Mark McHugh, David Cronnolly, Fergal Durkan, Rory Walsh, Damien Togher, Conor Waters, Gearoid Cronin, Marty Gallagher, Brian McHale, Keith Walsh, Ronan Murray, Shane Cunningham, Adrian Finnegan Jack O’Donnell.


Cathal Lavelle, Eric Gavin, Cian McGowan, Cormac Killian, Rory Walsh, Liam Martin, Michael English, Damien McHale, Francis Walsh, Keith Walsh, Liam Murphy, Joseph Togher, Gary Mulhern, Patrick Daly, Jack O’Donnell


Conor Walsh, Darragh Fahey, Ronan Molloy.



Louise Dervan, Sarah Granahan, Talissa Walsh, Katie McManamon, Aine Lenighan, Deirdre McGauran, Derbhla Gibbons, Aoife Gavin, Shona Moran, Katie Tully, Nikita Higgins, Cathy McKeon, Aoife Cunningham, Tracey Hall, Laura Breslin, Maeve Lavelle, Emer Mc Hugh, Orna Mc Hale, Aoife Healy, Evan Murray, Amy Robinson, Aisling Hughes, Mairead O Donnell, Jade Gannon, Jennifer Thornton, Sarah Tully.


Anna Tuohy, Sarah Granahan, Aoibhin Killian, Aine Lenighan, Maria Walsh, Dearbhla Gibbons, Shona Moran, Aisling Towey, Laura Walsh, Niamh Dunne, Aoife Brennan, Cathy McKeon, Aoife Cunningham, Tracey Hall, Ruth Finnan, Laura Breslin, Triona Ni Domhnaill, Orna Mc Hale, Ciara Coyne, Sarah O Shea, Roisin Heavey, Aoife Healy, Evan Murray, Hazel McNicholas, Amy Robinson, Karen Ludden, Mairead O Donnell, Caoimhe Dempsey, Deirdre Ni Domhnaill, Jade Gannon, Nicole Helbert


Aoibhin Killian, Talissa Walsh, Katie McManamon, Maria Walsh, Siun Ni Domhnaill, Aisling Towey, Niamh Dunne, Aoife Brennan, Tracey Hall, Laura Breslin, Helen Gallagher, Caoimhe Sykes, Emma Prendergast, Sarah O Shea, Aoife Healy, Hazel McNicholas, Deirdre Ni Domhnaill. Andrea O Malley


Leigh Ann Grier, Sarah Walsh, Stacey Rice, Emily McHale, Fiona Heneghan, Grace Moran, Cathy O Malley, Chloe Helbert, Ciara Waldron, Jessica McHale, Niamh Finnegan, Ann Marie Fox, Claire Walsh, Yvonne Lenighan.

Thanks to all the timekeepers, starters, referees and certificate recorders who helped run the event and made it such an enormous success for the club.

© Copyright 2002 by the author(s) and

Top of Page