Association football

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Castlebar Old Photographs ]

Posted by Murrisk on July 08, 2001 at 22:33:10:

Castlebar Celtic was formed in 1928. In 1953 the Mayo Association Football League was established. The inaugral meeting, held in Castlebar, was attended by Joe McCormack, Robert Kilkelly, Hugh McGartland, Chas Gutrie, Tommy Kettrick, Andy Leonard, Paddy Gilligan and Pat Flanagan of Castlebar Celtic along with representatives from two Westport teams Westport United and Quay Hearts. At that time there were six clubs in Mayo - Castlebar Celtic, Westport United, Westport Town, Quay Hearts, Dooniver Swifts and Swinford. Another Castlebar team, Barcastle, was formed in 1954.The recent front page news items of July 3rd and 4th clearly show that association football is doing well in Castlebar.

Follow Ups:

Post a Followup




Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Castlebar Old Photographs ]