From The West of Ireland
    Go to Castlebar | Photo Gallery | Castlebar Directory | Nostalgia Board
Community Groups : Castlebar Tidy Towns Last Updated: 2, Apr 2018 - 10:02

Castlebar Tidy Town Awards
By Noel Byrne
13, Nov 2009 - 17:21

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

Castlebar Tidy Towns held their annual awards presentation in the TF Hotel last Friday (6 Nov 2009. There was a very large audience present including public representatives, representatives from schools, resident organisations, sports clubs, the business community and individuals from the community. Chairman Noel Byrne outlined the progress of the Tidy Towns over the past two years culminating in a National Award win for the town. A variety of projects had been undertaken from the regular cleanup to anti gum awareness and the wildlife projects.  The positive cooperation between the town council and the committee had lad to a three plan being put into action. The President of the Chamber of Commerce also addressed the meeting and outlined the importance of the tidy towns to the Vision 2020 strategy and the Destination Castlebar campaign. The winners of the various categories were as follows – in the schools section first St Anthony’s, second St Peters Snugboro and third Scoil Raifteri. In the Business and Commercial sector first Next, second Togher Tyres and third Lidl. In the housing estate large first Fairways, second Springfield Court and third Blackfort Manor. Housing Estate Medium first Foxfield second Pontoon Drive and third Rathbawn Drive. Housing Estate Small first Cashel Park and second Blackthorn village. Public Buildings first Sacred Heart Hospital second Garda Station and third Court House. Shop Fronts first Leneghan Butchers, second Fahy’s Main St and third Irish House. Hanging Baskets first Green Bay, second Kenny’s B and B and third Rose Garden B and B. Service Stations first Mulroy’s Breaffy Rd and second Corrib Oil Ring Rd. Private Industries first Baxter Health Care, second SIPTU Building Moneen and third Rehab Industries The overall award went to Fairways Residents association while the new residents award went to Rockvale and the special endeavour to Knockthomas Drive. Representatives of the various winning groups were in hand to accept their awards. The Liam Durcan Special Award went to Mayo Peace Park and was presented by Mrs. Durcan, Liam’s mother to Michael Feeney Chairman of the Mayo Peace Park and Garden of Remembrance.


© Copyright 2009 by © Contributor(s) and Castlebar Web Pages 1997 - 2018

.. Top of Page

Castlebar Tidy Towns
Latest Headlines
Good Friday Clean-Up
Castlebar's Spring Clean
Operation Spring Clean
Operation Spring Clean 2010
Castlebar Tidy Towns AGM 2009
Castlebar Tidy Town Awards
Castlebar Tidy Towns - Presentation Night
Castlebar Anti Gum
Tidy Towns - Update 13 July 2009
Castlebar Tidy Town
Castlebar Spring Clean 27 April 2009
Castlebar Tidy Town AGM
Castlebar Tidy Town
Castlebar Tidy Town
Celtic and Mitchels support Castlebar Tidy Town
Castlebar Tidy Town
Castlebar Tidy Towns