From The West of Ireland
    Go to Castlebar | Photo Gallery | Castlebar Directory | Nostalgia Board
Sports : Tennis Last Updated: 2, Apr 2018 - 10:02

Results and Review of AIB Castlebar Open Tennis Championships 2008
By Patricia Armstrong
9, Aug 2008 - 09:27

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

Castlebar Tennis Club hosted the AIB Open Championships over the August Bank Holiday weekend. The tournament proved an outstanding success and great credit must go to the tournament referee Maria Kilkelly and the organising committee who worked long and hard to ensure the smooth running of the event.

Laura Cuddy winner of the Ladies Singles Championship being presented with the Ann Garavan Perpetual Cup by Ann Garavan President of Castlebar Tennis Club. In the picture are (from left) Patricia Armstrong Lady Captain, Michael Lyons Mens Captain, Ann Garavan Lady President, Laura Cuddy Championship winner Ladies Singles, Peter Glynn Manager AIB Main Sponsor, Ann O'Malley Lady Chairperson Castlebar Tennis Club.

From Friday night on tennis enthusiasts from tennis clubs all over Ireland began arriving to Castlebar for this very popular event. This year the Club also welcomed a group from London who made their first visit to the Castlebar competition with promises to return again next year.

A record entry of 170 people took part with a total of 600 matches played over the weekend. Monday saw the sun shine for the finals and Castlebar was well represented on the day in all divisions. Local girl Laura Cuddy was the winner of the Ladies Singles Division 1 title. This match was indeed one of the highlights of the tournament with Laura and her opponent Ciara Hayes from London giving the large audience a feast of tennis. Laura was presented with the Ann Garavan Perpetual Trophy which she received from Ann Garavan herself the President of Castlebar Tennis Club.

Results of Division 1

In the Mixed Doubles Division 1 Final Laura and her brother Michael were the runners up to another brother sister partnership of Ciara and Michael Hayes who took the title, with Michael also claiming the Men’s Singles Division 1 cup.

The Men’s Doubles Division 1 Final was won by Castlebar tennis coach Garrett Barry and his doubles partner Liam Cassidy.

In the Ladies Doubles Division 1 Final Margaret Glancy (Castlebar) and Bernadette Hearns were runners up to Una Clay and Audrey Bolger (Charleville).

Results of Division 2 and 3

Mens Singles 2 - Cormac O'Conner (w) Ray Mc Ginley (r u)
Mens Singles 3 - Benoit Lusson (w) A Chantaresena (r u)
Mens Doubles 2 - Arie Van Limpet/Mark Cosgrave (w) Neil Ferriter D Boland (r u)
Mens Doubles 3 - Patrick O'Boyle/ Ivor O'Boyle (w) Mick Hennessy T McAndrew(ru)
Ladies Singles 2 - Michelle Reynolds (w) Bernie Burke (ru)
Ladies Singles 3 - Pat McGorain (w) Kay Curley (ru)
Ladies Doubles 2 - Mary Barry/ Jane Watt (w) J Duignan T Mulvey (ru)
Ladies Doubles 3 - A Woodhouse/M Bagnell(w) Patricia Armstrong Bertha Munnelly
Mixed Doubles 3 - Sandra Farrell/ Gerry Walsh (w) M Henry Dave Mc Hale(ru)
Plate Events Ladies Doubles 1 - M Dolan/Gina Kelly (w)
Mixed Doubles 2 - Monica Joyce Martin Moylette (w)
Mixed Doubles 3 - Norbert Domin/ M Barry (w)

In her closing speech Castlebar Tennis Club Chairperson Anne O'Malley thanked the sponsors of the tournament Breaffy House Hotel, Carmex Lip Balm, DNG Flannelly Auctioneers, Hynes Shoes, Mars and the tournament’s main sponsor AIB Bank. She expressed her wish to see all the competitors back again next year when the event will be hosted from the club’s new home at Lough Lannagh. "We may be moving to a bigger better facility but the welcome will stay the same," she assured everyone.

© Copyright 2008 by © Contributor(s) and Castlebar Web Pages 1997 - 2018

.. Top of Page

Latest Headlines
Under the Dome!
National Castlebar Senior Open Championships
Tennis Club Junior Weekend
Elverys Castlebar Vets Indoor 2016
Tennis Club Winners
The Annual Rua Interclub Triangular
Castlebar Junior Indoor Open Tennis Tournament
US Ambassador to Ireland, Plays for Mayo
Castlebar Tennis Club - Spring League Competition
Castlebar Tennis Club Competition Winners
Castlebar Tennis Club Doubles Weekend
Tennis Club Junior Weekend Competition
The Dome Opens
Castlebar Tennis Club Patrick's Weekend Competition
A Fun Mix of Irish and Tennis
Tennis Club Presidents Night
Tennis Club Spring League 2013
Tennis Club Fun Friday - Feb 2013
Tennis Club Captains Day Presentations
Castlebar Tennis Club Championships 2012
Castlebar Tennis Club News - Oct 2012
David O'Kane Memorial Cup
Tennis Club - August Weekend
Fun Friday Competition
Tennis Club Fun Friday 16 March
Bilingual Tennis Fun Competition
The Old Pavilion
Tennis Club Demolished
Tennis Club Fun Quiz
Golf Fun Day at Tennis Club
President's Night 2011
Captain's Night at Castlebar Tennis Club
Castlebar Tennis Club Club Championship
Castlebar Tennis Club's Fun Friday - 1 Oct 2010
O'Kane Cup 2010 at Castlebar Tennis Club
Opening of new Tennis Club
Castlebar Tennis Club Fun Friday
Castlebar Tennis Club August Competition Winners
Daniel Glancy- Castlebar Tennis Club
Castlebar Tennis Club Fun Friday
Tennis Club Castlebar - Fun Friday
Castlebar Tennis Club Spring League
Tennis Club Golf AmAm
Castlebar Tennis Club Easter Bash
The Reserved Moments
Junior Tennis Champions
The Pavilion's Final Fling
Tennis Club Spring League
Tennis Club Draw
International Tennis Open Day
Results and Review of AIB Castlebar Open Tennis Championships 2008
AIB Castlebar Open Tennis Championships 2008
Results of the Bank of Ireland Spring League
Castlebar Tennis Teams and Tables for Spring League
Connacht Tennis Team Honoured
New Tennis Committee
Castlebar Tennis Club - 2005
Tennis Club of the Year 2003
Connacht Open Tennis August 2003
Castlebar Tennis Club - Junior Open Fitzwilliam Aug 2002
Castlebar Tennis Club News 3rd June 2002
Castlebar Tennis Club Update 25th. April 2002
Castlebar Tennis Club- Recent Tournament Results
Easter Tennis and Multiactivity Camp