From The West of Ireland
    Go to Castlebar | Photo Gallery | Castlebar Directory | Nostalgia Board
Sports : Tennis Last Updated: 2, Apr 2018 - 10:02

Connacht Open Tennis August 2003
By Castlebar Tennis Club
15, Aug 2003 - 08:30

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

Castlebar players win Connacht Open Tennis titles

A fantastic weekend of tennis was enjoyed by all who took part in the AIB Connaught Open Championships at Castlebar Tennis Club during the August Bank Holiday weekend 2003. The weather throughout the tournament was marvellous and many visitors and players commented on the wonderful atmosphere of hospitality, which exists at the Club.

In all, eighteen competitions were run off, with courts at Claremorris and Westport also being used. Tournament referee, Maria Kilkelly was ably assisted by club captains Darragh Dunne and Monica Joyce and club coach, Garrett Barry. Finals were played on Monday afternoon with prizes being presented at a colourful and good-spirited outdoor presentation ceremony at the pavilion.

When opening the ceremony club chairman, Mr Adrian Gavin, welcomed the president of Tennis Ireland, Mr. Seamus McCusker, Mr Patrick Morley, on behalf of tournament sponsor Allied Irish Banks, and the club president, Ms Ann Garavan. He paid numerous compliments to the organising committee on the success of the tournament. The chairman also remarked on the wonderful spirit, which exists at the club and stated that recent refurbishment work at the club, which has been carried out by club members, has rekindled a sense of pride in the facility.

Special presentations were made to tournament referee Maria Kilkelly and to Ms Ann Garavan who has a wonderful record of participation in the tournament.

Local players acquitted themselves very well during the weekend. Warren Atkins won the Mens A singles, beating his club mate Daniel Glancy in a thrilling final. Paul Dunne, an up and coming local player, beat David Boland in the Mens B final. A name to watch out for on court also is local man David McHale, who was narrowly defeated in the Mens C singles competition.

In the ladies competitions, club players Loretta O’Malley and Ann Sweeney were victorious in the Ladies B and C sections respectively. Other players to do well included Garrett Barry and John McGuire who won the Men’s A Doubles and John McAlpine and David Boland who won the Men’s B Doubles.

© Copyright 2003 by © Contributor(s) and Castlebar Web Pages 1997 - 2018

.. Top of Page

Latest Headlines
Under the Dome!
National Castlebar Senior Open Championships
Tennis Club Junior Weekend
Elverys Castlebar Vets Indoor 2016
Tennis Club Winners
The Annual Rua Interclub Triangular
Castlebar Junior Indoor Open Tennis Tournament
US Ambassador to Ireland, Plays for Mayo
Castlebar Tennis Club - Spring League Competition
Castlebar Tennis Club Competition Winners
Castlebar Tennis Club Doubles Weekend
Tennis Club Junior Weekend Competition
The Dome Opens
Castlebar Tennis Club Patrick's Weekend Competition
A Fun Mix of Irish and Tennis
Tennis Club Presidents Night
Tennis Club Spring League 2013
Tennis Club Fun Friday - Feb 2013
Tennis Club Captains Day Presentations
Castlebar Tennis Club Championships 2012
Castlebar Tennis Club News - Oct 2012
David O'Kane Memorial Cup
Tennis Club - August Weekend
Fun Friday Competition
Tennis Club Fun Friday 16 March
Bilingual Tennis Fun Competition
The Old Pavilion
Tennis Club Demolished
Tennis Club Fun Quiz
Golf Fun Day at Tennis Club
President's Night 2011
Captain's Night at Castlebar Tennis Club
Castlebar Tennis Club Club Championship
Castlebar Tennis Club's Fun Friday - 1 Oct 2010
O'Kane Cup 2010 at Castlebar Tennis Club
Opening of new Tennis Club
Castlebar Tennis Club Fun Friday
Castlebar Tennis Club August Competition Winners
Daniel Glancy- Castlebar Tennis Club
Castlebar Tennis Club Fun Friday
Tennis Club Castlebar - Fun Friday
Castlebar Tennis Club Spring League
Tennis Club Golf AmAm
Castlebar Tennis Club Easter Bash
The Reserved Moments
Junior Tennis Champions
The Pavilion's Final Fling
Tennis Club Spring League
Tennis Club Draw
International Tennis Open Day
Results and Review of AIB Castlebar Open Tennis Championships 2008
AIB Castlebar Open Tennis Championships 2008
Results of the Bank of Ireland Spring League
Castlebar Tennis Teams and Tables for Spring League
Connacht Tennis Team Honoured
New Tennis Committee
Castlebar Tennis Club - 2005
Tennis Club of the Year 2003
Connacht Open Tennis August 2003
Castlebar Tennis Club - Junior Open Fitzwilliam Aug 2002
Castlebar Tennis Club News 3rd June 2002
Castlebar Tennis Club Update 25th. April 2002
Castlebar Tennis Club- Recent Tournament Results
Easter Tennis and Multiactivity Camp